2021 IPL Players List: Kolkata Knight Riders

IPL Chennai Super Kings

2021 IPL Players List: Chennai Super Kings

2021 IPL Players List: Chennai Super Kings

February 17, 2021

Author 77baji

In the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League, Chennai Super Kings faced their most challenging season. Although some of their cricketers were injured during the match, they missed some seasoned players in Harbhajan Singh and Suresh Raina. CSK never looked like competing in the UAE with an ageing team, and skipper MS Dhoni also recognized the need for more young people in the squad.

CSK was unable to make it to the playoffs for the first time in the IPL and 11 seasons of its life, and even coach Stephen Fleming thought that they will now have to develop the squad to invest in the young people in the future. The preparations for the T20 extravaganza season 14 have started, and the deadline for the franchises to release the list to retained and released players was 20 January.

Therefore, CSK released Kedar Jadhav, Murali Vijay, Monu Singh and Piyush Chawla before the 2021 season. For their performance in the IPL 2020, the trio, particularly Kedar, has been criticized a lot and it is no surprise that they have been released. Harbhajan Singh himself declared early on Wednesday, with a tweet, the end of his association with CSK.

List of retained CSK players
MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Narayan Jagadeesan, Shardul Thakur, KM Asif, Ravindra Jadeja, Josh Hazlewood, Karn Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Sai Kishore, Mitchell Santner, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Ruturaj Gaikwad

List of released CSK players
Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Monu Kumar, Murali Vijay, Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla

Purse Available: 22.9 crores