Bangladesh Cricket Board will play five T20I matches with Australia

Dawid Malan target

Bangladesh Cricket Board will play five T20I matches with Australia

Bangladesh Cricket Board will play five T20I matches with Australia

July 23, 2021

Author 77baji

After much uncertainty about Australia's upcoming tour to Bangladesh, Bangladesh Cricket Board's cricket operations head Akram Khan has officially stated that the T20I series will begin on August 3. Due to Australia's aversion to the bio-bubble and other COVID-19 requirements, constant discussions centred on the trip.

However, everything appears to be in order since the Australian board is satisfied with the current bio-security systems. For the first time since 2017, the Men in Yellow will visit Bangladesh.

On Tuesday, the final agreement was reached (July 20). In Bangladesh, positive instances of COVID-19 are on the rise, prompting the government to declare a statewide lockdown beginning July 23.

While Bangladesh is playing an all-format series in Zimbabwe, Australia plays a limited-overs series in the West Indies. Both teams will complete their matches before arriving in Bangladesh on July 29. Following their arrival, both teams will be subjected to a three-day mandated quarantine at the hotel.

There were also disputes on the venues for the five Twenty20 Internationals. Bangladesh insisted on breaking the matches into two venues, whilst Australia intended to play all of them at one venue. However, BCB eventually consented to Australia's request, and all of the matches were held in Dhaka Stadium.

Both teams will have only one day of practice before opening the five T20Is on August 3. It is also understood that Australia does not want to go through the immigration process and instead prefers to check into the hotel while keeping COVID-19 in mind.

Cricket Australia (CA) has already named its Bangladesh squad, with seven key players missing. The Men in Yellow will be keen to do well against Bangladesh after suffering a thrashing in the shortest format against the West Indies. According to the original draught, the five T20Is will be played on August 3, 4, 6, 7, and 9.