BCCI urged Lucknow and Ahmedabad not to sign any players

Dawid Malan target

BCCI urged Lucknow and Ahmedabad not to sign any players

BCCI urged Lucknow and Ahmedabad not to sign any players

December 22, 2021

Author 77baji

The deadline to choose the three players for the IPL 2022 Mega Auction was December 25, but it has already been postponed.

Despite the fact that the two new franchises – Lucknow and Ahmedabad – could have signed three players in the IPL Retention Draft, no players have been formally signed. According to a source from InsideSport, the BCCI has urged Team Lucknow not to sign players, with a cloud hanging over the finalisation of Team Ahmedabad — allegedly due to CVC's alleged ties to gambling sites.

The deadline to choose the three players was December 25, but it will now be postponed. After a hefty Rs 7,090 crore bid, the RPSG company was awarded the Lucknow franchise. CVC Capital won the tender with an offer of Rs 5,625 crore. Team Lucknow is also said to have contacted KL Rahul and Rashid Khan, according to reports. According to InsideSport, the detention can only actually occur after December 31.

Before stepping into the mega auction in January, the old eight teams have already decided on which players they will keep for the following seasons.

Punjab Kings' KL Rahul and Sunrisers Hyderabad's Rashid Khan were two of the popular names removed by Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad during the retentions. It was widely assumed that Goenka's Lucknow club was targeting the two players ahead of the major auction, as the BCCI allowed the two squads to sign three players at the draught, which began after the retention.

The high-profile auction for the IPL 2022 season is expected to take place in the last week of December. Another possible date is, it might also be in the first week of January 2022. It should be noted that the current IPL franchise had already submitted a list of players who would be kept in their roster.

On the other hand, KL Rahul was given the chance to start the innings for India in Test cricket because Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal were injured, according to former Indian cricketer VVS Laxman.